Board is Distinguished among Georgia Boards of Education
FCS Board earns Distinguished status from Georgia School Boards Association
Posted on 01/12/2015
logoThe Floyd County Board of Education has earned the achievement and status of the Georgia School Boards Association’s (GSBA) 2014 Distinguished School Board recognition.  The recognition is currently the highest level of recognition for local boards sanctioned by GSBA.   

The GSBA Board recognition program is a three-year, three tiered program beginning with Quality Board status. The Floyd County Board of Education earned Quality status in 2013, the first year of the new recognition program and advanced to Distinguished for 2014.  GSBA will offer its highest recognition of the three-tiers next year as the organization will announce Exemplary winners in 2016.  The recognition program was designed to showcase best practices in school governance and leadership.

The Floyd County Board of Education met and/or exceeded the criteria set forth by GSBA to earn this honor of a 2014 Distinguished Board. The criteria may be reviewed at the GSBA Website. Floyd County Board of Education members in 2014 were: David Johnson, chairman; Terry Williamson, vice-chairman; Brian Barcomb; George Bevels; and Dr. David Cox.

The GSBA Governance Team Recognition Program was developed by Georgia superintendents and board members based on the state board of education’s standards for effective governance to recognize exemplary leadership.

In 1998, the Georgia School Boards Association was one of the first school board associations in the nation to develop a program of standards for local boards of education.