Top 10 Educators
Floyd administrator garners Top 10 award
Posted on 06/27/2013
Melinda Strickland, a veteran administrator in Floyd County Schools, was recently listed among the Top 10 Educators in the "Best of Us" contest sponsored by Johnsonville Sausage.  The contest was a nationwide call to identify the individuals that reflect the American spirit. Based on more than 71,000 votes from individuals across the country, Strickland joined nine other educators from across the country on the list of top educational professionals.   

The “Best of US” contest featured unique nomination criteria in both the Educator and Community Celebration categories. Johnsonville summoned the nation to spotlight educators who are not only effective in the classroom but also take action beyond the walls of their classrooms in order to create better places to live.   

Strickland has worked with the alternative education program in Floyd County Schools for several years and for the last two has also worked with the Performance Learning Center (PLC).  The PLC allows teens to use computers and teacher assistance to progress through classes at their own pace.  Strickland has also been a strong proponent of service learning and giving back to the community for students in her programs.

  1. Bob Tyrell – Salt Lake City, Utah (East High School)
  2. Lori Telschow – Sheboygan, Wis. (Sheboygan North High School)
  3. Danielle Wilkins – Orland Park, Ill. (Elwood School)
  4. Margie Clevenger – Bowling Green, Ky. (T.C. Cherry Elementary School)
  5. Melinda Strickland – Rome, Ga. (Floyd County Education Center)
  6. Barbara Weber – Cheektowaga, N.Y. (Cleveland Hill Elementary School)
  7. Cynthia Reichenthaler – Huntington Beach, Calif. (Oak View Elementary School)
  8. Christopher Schroeder – Brighton, Mass. (Conservatory Lab Charter School)
  9. Kristina Vantassel – Marshfield, Wis. (Grant Elementary School)
  10. Lisa Runyon – Carrollton, Texas (McCoy Elementary School)
Tyrell took the $10,000 grand prizes.  Strickland and the eight other finalists will receive $1,000 each.

“We hope the rest of the nation is as inspired as Johnsonville is by these educators who recognize the power of giving back to local communities and community celebrations that bring people together in uniquely American ways,” said Ralph Stayer, CEO of Johnsonville Sausage, in a release on the Johnsonville website. “These unsung heroes and special events truly capture the Best of US.”

The Top 10 in each category were identified following a public voting period that ran from May 23 to June 14.