Board elected to State Offices
Board Members are elected to state offices for the Georgia School Boards Association
Posted on 06/15/2009
David Johnson and George Bevels, members of the Floyd County Board of Education, have been elected to state offices with the Georgia School Boards Association (GSBA). David Johnson was elected vice-president of the GSBA Board of Directors and George Bevels was elected District 7 Director for GSBA representing Bartow County, Calhoun City, Cartersville City, Catoosa County, Chattooga County, Cherokee County, Chickamauga City, Cobb County, Dade County, Dalton City, Floyd County, Gordon County, Haralson County, Marietta City, Murray County, Paulding County, Polk County, Rome City, Trion City, Walker County, and Whitfield County. Johnson and Bevels were elected by GSBA members present at the GSBA Annual Business Meeting and Delegate Assembly held in Savannah this weekend. Johnson will serve a one-year term and Bevels a three-year term beginning July 1. 

David Johnson, vice-chairman of the Floyd County Board of Education, has served the board as a representative of the Pepperell and Midway communities for more than 10 years and has been elected to three (3) four-year terms. In addition to currently serving his second one-year term as vice-chairman of the board, Johnson has served three (3) years as chairman. He has also served in a leadership position with GSBA. Johnson was elected GSBA District 7 Director in 2007. He is on the GSBA Executive Committee, the Governmental Affairs Committee, the Nominating Committee, and the NSBA Federal Relations Network (FRN). Johnson also serves on the Board of Directors of GSBA’s subsidiary, eBOARD Solutions. Locally, he is a member of the Resource Board and the Emergency Physician Group Board of Directors of Floyd Medical Center and on several committees at the hospital. He also serves as Secretary/Treasurer to the Development Authority of Floyd County, among other community activities. Johnson is President of United Community Bank in Rome. 

George Bevels has served the Floyd County Board of Education for over 20 years and has been elected to six (6) four-year terms. He was first elected to represent the Cave Spring and McHenry communities in 1988 and has the longest tenure of any current member on the board. He has been honored with a GSBA Board Service Recognition Pin for his consecutive years of service. Bevels served one (1) year as chairman and three (3) one-year terms as vice-chairman during his time on the board. He is retired from General Electric and is a United States veteran of the Vietnam War having served in the Marines. Bevels is an active member of the Marine Corps League. 

The Georgia School Boards Association is an advocate of public education and supports the uniquely American tradition of citizen control of public school systems. GSBA is a voluntary, statewide organization that provides professional services and training to the state's local boards of education, and represents the collective resolve of local boards in the governance of public education. GSBA has served local boards for over 50 years. 

The officers of GSBA are the president, president elect, vice president, treasurer and immediate past president. Officers are elected at the Annual Business Meeting of the Delegate Assembly and assume office on July 1. The president elect becomes president for the year succeeding election as president-elect. 

The Board of Directors is comprised of the president, president-elect, vice president, treasurer, immediate past president, and a Director from each of the 14 GSBA districts. The Board is empowered to manage the affairs and transact the business of the Association and employ the executive director. 

Directors are elected for three-year terms at district meetings by a majority of the district members present and voting, and certified by the Delegate Assembly. The Executive Committee is comprised of the president, president-elect, vice president, treasurer, immediate past president, and four members of the Board of Directors selected by the president and confirmed by the GSBA Board.