Title 1 schools earn Awards
All six Floyd County Title 1 schools earn Distinguished Schools Awards
Posted on 01/06/2009
All six Title 1 schools in the Floyd County School System have been recognized as Title 1 Distinguished Schools for 2008 - 2009 by the Georgia Department of Education. The purpose of the Title 1 Recognition and Distinguished Schools program is to recognize and honor those Title 1 elementary and secondary schools that make adequate yearly progress three or more consecutive years.

This is the fourth consecutive year that all six Floyd County Title 1 schools have earned Distinguished status. Floyd County Title 1 schools are: Alto Park Elementary, Cave Spring Elementary, Garden Lakes Elementary, McHenry Primary, Pepperell Primary and Pepperell Elementary. Garden Lakes Elementary has met the criteria for the most consecutive years with eight-years meeting AYP and six-years in Distinguished status. Cave Spring Elementary is a close second with seven-years meeting AYP and five-years Distinguished. Both Garden Lakes and Cave Spring will receive $1,263.00 as a financial reward. The other four schools, Alto Park, McHenry, Pepperell Primary, and Pepperell Elementary, have each attained AYP for six-years and Distinguished status for four-years. Each of the four will receive a monetary award of $842.00 

“Consistent, quality performance over time is the mark of a quality school and a successful community,” said Dr. Lynn Plunkett, superintendent of Floyd County Schools. “The students, parents, teachers and staffs of the six Title 1 schools are to be commended for this recognition of achievement.” The Title I Distinguished Schools Program is a joint project of the National Association of State Title I Directors (NASTID) and the U.S. Department of Education. The Title 1 Distinguished Schools Recognition Program was established as part of the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001.