22nd annual Bus Safety Road-e-o
Floyd County bus drivers demonstrate driving skills in 22nd annual Bus Safety Road-e-o
Posted on 04/30/2010
Cindy Weems has won the annual Floyd County Schools Bus Safety Road-e-o driving title for 2010. Weems totaled one of the highest overall scores in the history of the Floyd County bus driving competition with a final total of 520 out of a possible 550 points. Weems is a veteran of the Safety Road-e-o competitions having won the event in 2003 and placing in the top four in 2005, 2006 and 2008. 

The Floyd County Schools Bus Safety Road-e-o is an annual competition that tests the skill and driving knowledge of school bus drivers. This was the 22nd annual competition for Floyd County Schools. The drivers rode the range for school bus safety in this year’s Bus Safety Road-e-o held on Friday, April 30th. The Road-e-o event took place in the parking lot across from the Board of Education office on Riverside Parkway. 

Participating school bus drivers were asked to drive a bus through an obstacle course designed to simulate difficult driving situations that might be faced on the road. The drivers were awarded points for successfully completing each section of the course. Drivers were also tested on loading and unloading procedures and pre-trip inspection knowledge. Connie Beatenbough, a bus driver in the Pepperell attendance area, and David Legg, a substitute driver in the Pepperell area, tied for second with a total of 501 points. The tie breaker was the highest score on the pre-trip inspection which moved Beatenbough into the second place slot; Legg, a first year driver and participating in his first competition, settled for third. Beatenbough is a regular in the winner’s circle of bus road-e-o competitions. She won the local competition last year, the Georgia state title in 2006, placed sixth in the 2006 International Road-e-o and she also qualified to participate in the International competition in the summer of 2005. 

Weems and Beatenbough will now represent Floyd County in the state School Bus Safety Road-e-o to be held June 7 - 8, 2010 in Houston County, Georgia. The first and second place winners at the state level will be eligible to participate with the best drivers in North America in International competition to be held July 23 – 24 in St. Louis, Missouri.

Terry Simpson, director of transportation for Floyd County Schools, was pleased with the driving skills displayed by drivers this year. He said, “We had excellent scores this year with our top seven finishers all scoring higher than last year’s winner.” This is the first time that multiple drivers have scored higher than 500 in the competition. Beatenbough scored 523 to win the event in 2008. 

Bus drivers from Floyd County Schools have a history of strong finishes in Bus Safety Road -e-o events. Floyd County drivers have finished first in the district, state, and international competitions. Pepperell area drivers, Connie Beatenbough and Patti Cox have both won the Georgia title. Cox was also crowned the International Driving Champion in 1999.

Top Ten Drivers for 2010
  1. Cindy Weems (Model) 520
  2. Connie Beatenbough (Pepperell) 501
  3. David Legg  (Pepperell) 501
  4. Darla Chambers (Armuchee)   499
  5. Jamie Rohler  (Pepperell) 498
  6. Wanda Ely  (Pepperell) 496
  7. Barbara Tyree (Pepperell)   476
  8. Daniel Banks  (Pepperell) 460
  9. Cindy Poole (Armuchee) 457
10. Tracy Swann (Coosa) 454