2003 Teacher of the Year
Connie Pollitz, Computer Teacher at Coosa Middle School

Connie PollitzThe Floyd County School System announced the selection of the 2003 Floyd County Schools' "Teacher of the Year" at the October 1, 2002 Board of Education meeting. Connie Pollitz, computer teacher at Coosa Middle School, received the top teacher award. Mrs. Pollitz was selected for the honor from three finalists who were announced in September. Finalists for the "Teacher of the Year" award were: Mrs. Pollitz, Coosa Middle; Dena LeeAnn Tracy, a fifth-grade teacher at Pepperell Elementary; and Sue Turnquist, a third-grade teacher at Model Elementary.

Mr. Pollitz believes that she is just where she was intended to be in her life. Pollitz said, "I just just know that teaching middle school is where I should be because I wake up each morning looking forward to spending the day with the children in my class." She added," Middle school age children are just unique and it is fascinating just to see how the adolescent mind works." Mrs. Pollitz feels that teaching is learning and that she is a participant in the learning process with her students. Pollitz said, "I believe that all children can learn if given the right materials and opportunity and that is where I come in, I hope that I am that facilitator who can show them how and then just open the gate and let them fly." 

Mrs. Pollitz was rewarded with a $500.00 check provided by Oglethorpe Power Corporation. Northwest Georgia Credit Union provided an engraved glass apple, a door plaque for the Teacher of the Year's classroom, and a wall plaque that will be displayed in the board room at the Floyd County Board of Education office honoring her accomplishments. Mrs. Pollitz will also be allowed to attend a national educational conference to further her professional development. Northwest Georgia Credit Union provided a $100.00 award for each of the Teacher of the Year finalist.

Floyd County Schools selects the "Teacher of the Year" from the educators chosen as each individual school's "Teacher of the Year." School winners in Floyd County this year were: Jennifer Wofford - Alto Park; Melissa McLauglin - Armuchee Elementary; Dorothy Beck - Armuchee Middle; Jackie Deaton - Armuchee High; Diana Durbin - Cave Spring; Connie Pollitz - Coosa Middle; Marie Mercer-Lewis - Coosa High; David Warren - Floyd County Technical High; Susan Williams West - Garden Lakes; John Basil Kapustay, III - Glenwood; Vondell Reynolds - Johnson; Susan White Bagwell - McHenry; Bonnie Jones Clark - Midway; Sue Turnquist - Model Elementary; Miriam McGhee - Model Middle; Milt Travis - Model High; Carla Johnson - Pepperell Primary; Dena LeeAnn Tracy - Pepperell Elementary; Kami D. Gillespie - Pepperell Middle; and Rebecca Lynn McCoy - Pepperell High.