2002 Teacher of the Year
Earlene Cameron, 3rd grade teacher at Alto Park Elementary School

Earlene CameronThe Floyd County School System announced the selection of the 2002 Floyd County Schools’ "Teacher of the Year" at the October 2, 2001 Board of Education meeting. Earlene Cameron, a third-grade teacher at Alto Park Elementary, received the top teacher award. Mrs. Cameron was selected for the honor from four finalists who were announced in September. Finalists for the "Teacher of the Year" award were: Mrs. Cameron - Alto Park; Ms. Janet C. Couey - Coosa High; Ms. Deanna L. Hackney - Pepperell Elementary; and Mrs. Elissa J. Tucker - Model Elementary.

Cameron credits her second-grade teacher with inspiring her to become a teacher. "I decided in second grade that I wanted to be a teacher because of the influence of my teacher, Mrs. Johnson. She helped me feel capable of accomplishing anything." Mrs. Cameron married, started a family, and worked twenty-five years in another profession before realizing her dream. "As an educator, I have followed in Mrs. Johnson’s footsteps. I have looked for what’s special about each child whom I have taught. I have tried to build on my students’ strengths, and I have encouraged them to always do their best. My greatest accomplishments in education are centered around my students. It is impossible to describe my feeling of achievement when I witness a student’s success, no matter how small. Some students come to third grade having experienced little in their academic lives other than failure. I feel very rewarded when I can help them achieve success. If a student already feels like a failure at age eight, it is very difficult to overcome that. When I see students turn failures into successes, I know that I have contributed much to education."

Mrs. Cameron was rewarded with a $500. check provided by Oglethorpe Power Corporation, an engraved glass apple and a door plaque from Northwest Georgia Credit Union, and a trip to a national educational conference provided by the school system. Northwest Georgia Credit Union also provided a plaque honoring Mrs. Cameron’s accomplishments that will be displayed in the board room at the Floyd County Board of Education office. Northwest Georgia Credit Union also provided a $100. award for each of the four finalists.

Floyd County Schools selects the "Teacher of the Year" from the educators chosen as each individual school’s "Teacher of the Year." School winners in Floyd County this year were: Earlene Cameron - Alto Park; Marsha Lindsey - Armuchee Elementary; Laura Ann Smith - Armuchee Middle; Michaele Marie Flynn - Armuchee High; Renee Hutchins - Cave Spring; Robert J. Hall - Coosa Middle; Janet C. Couey - Coosa High; Charles Gilbreath - Floyd County Technical High; Stacy Henderson - Garden Lakes; Agnes Williams - Glenwood; Barbara M. Dewey - Johnson; Stephanie C. Walker - McHenry; June A. Aycock - Midway; Elissa Jacks Tucker - Model Elementary; Anthony J. Hays - Model Middle; Carol Waddell - Model High; Zegie A. Hilliard- Pepperell Primary; Deanna L. Hackey - Pepperell Elementary; Lori Pilgrim - Pepperell Middle; and Jeff Shiflett - Pepperell High.