2001 Teacher of the Year
Jenny Rusaw, 4th grade teacher at Pepperell Elementary School

Jenny RusawThe Floyd County School System announced the selection of the Floyd County Schools "Teacher of the Year" for 2001 at the October board meeting. Jenny Rusaw, a fourth grade teacher at Pepperell Elementary School, received the top teacher award for her work with her students at Pepperell. Mrs. Rusaw was selected for the honor from three finalists that were announced in September. Finalists for the "Teacher of the Year" award were: Jenny Rusaw, a fourth grade teacher at Pepperell Elementary School; McCall Campbell Govignon, a teacher of the gifted program at Pepperell Primary School; and Sarah Young, a science teacher at Coosa High School. The finalists were interviewed by the selection panel and observed teaching in the classroom. The "Teacher of the Year" selection committee was made-up of retired educators.

Mrs. Rusaw was rewarded with a $500 check provided by Oglethorpe Power Corporation, an engraved glass apple and a door plaque from Northwest Georgia Credit Union, and a trip to a national educational conference provided by the school system. Northwest Georgia Credit also provided a plaque that will hang in Mrs. Rusaw’s honor in the Floyd County Board of Education office on the Teacher Wall of Fame located in the board room. Northwest Georgia Credit Union also provided a $100 monetary reward for each of the three finalists in the teacher competition.

Mrs. Rusaw credits a teacher for finding her hidden talents while she was in elementary school. She had encountered many difficulties in school before being diagnosed with She seeks to repay that kindness by searching for the hidden talents in each child in her class. Mrs. Rusaw is the second teacher in a row from Pepperell Elementary School to receive the system "Teacher of the Year" honor. Last years winner was Debra Malone, a music teacher at Pepperell Elementary. Mrs. Rusaw will now represent Floyd County Schools in the state "Teacher of the Year" competition.