Board Vice-chair is Selected for State Study Committee
Board Vice-chair is Selected for State Study Committee
Posted on 05/17/2011

David Johnson, vice-chair of the Floyd County Board of Education, was one of a 20-member committee appointed today to look at how public schools are funded in Georgia. Johnson, along with four senators, four House members and representatives from school systems across the state will serve on the committee created by the Legislature this year to evaluate the current, 25-plus-year-old funding formula that was originally part of the Quality Basic Education Act. The committee will meet quarterly and complete its recommendations by September 2012.

Johnson has been a member of Floyd County Board of Education for 12 years, serving as chair or vice-chair on more than one occasion. He currently holds the office of vice-chair. He is president-elect of the Georgia School Board Association, and was appointed by Governor Sonny Perdue to the Professional Standards Commission in 2009. Johnson also serves on the Board of Directors of e-Board Solutions, the Board of Directors of Georgia Partnership for Excellence in Education and the Executive Committee for Georgia Visioning Project sponsored by GSBA/GSSA. In the Floyd County community, he serves on the Hospital Authority of Floyd County, as the secretary-treasurer of the Development Authority of Floyd County, the Board of Directors of the Specialty Hospital and the Floyd Medical Resource Board. Johnson is president of United Community Bank, in Rome. 

The members of the committee appointed by state leadership to serve on the committee with Johnson include: University System Chancellor-designee Hank Huckaby; Forsyth County School Superintendent Buster Evans; Lowndes County High School Principal Wes Taylor; 2012 Georgia teacher of the year Jadum McCarthy; State School Board member Barbara Hampton; Technical College System board member Lynn Cornett; Professional Standards Commission executive secretary Kelly Henson; Hall County Schools deputy superintendent Lee Lovett; businessman and former State School Board member Jim Bostic; Senators Fran Millar, Jim Butterworth, Jack Hill and Freddie Powell Sims; Representatives Brooks Coleman, Terry England, Tom Dickson and Margaret Kaiser.

Governor Nathan Deal made 10 of the 20 appointments. Lt. Governor Casey Cagle and House Speaker David Ralston each had four appointments. The other two seats will be filled by State School Superintendent John Barge and Scott Austenson, chief operating officer of the Georgia Department of Education.

Superintendent Dr. Lynn Plunkett sees David Johnson as a logical choice to assist the committee with their work. “David Johnson’s extensive experience in the world of finance, his years on the Floyd County Board of Education and his commitment to the children of our community makes him a perfect choice to serve on this important committee,” Plunkett said. “Mr. Johnson has been an important part of the budget planning process for the school system so he knows the challenges schools face in educating our children under the outdated QBE formula.”