Re-elected to National Superintendent’s Board
Dr. Lynn Plunkett Re-elected to National Superintendent’s Board
Posted on 10/21/2011

Dr. Lynn M. Plunkett, superintendent of Floyd County Schools, has been re-elected to the Governing Board of the American Association of School Administrators (AASA). Dr. Plunkett was elected by Georgia school superintendents last year to fill the unexpired term of Chris Erwin, superintendent of Banks County Schools. Plunkett is serving the remainder of Bank’s term in office that will run through June 30, 2012. The new two-year term Plunkett was elected to will run through June 2014. 

Dr. Plunkett is in her fourth year as superintendent of Floyd County Schools. She has also served as interim superintendent and assistant superintendent since returning to Floyd County in 2001. Plunkett has served on the transition team of State School Superintendent Dr. John Barge and is serving on the state committee to review education funding in Georgia. Plunkett is a graduate of Coosa High School.

The American Association of School Administrators was founded in 1865 and is the professional organization for more than 13,000 educational leaders in the United States and throughout the world. AASA members range from chief executive officers, superintendents and senior level school administrators to cabinet members, professors and aspiring school system leaders. AASA members advance the goals of public education and champion children’s causes in their districts and across the country.

Membership on the AASA Governing Board is based upon the number of eligible voting members in each state affiliate. Each state affiliate is guaranteed at least two representatives on the Governing Board. Governing Board members have dual responsibilities in their elected positions. They represent their home state on the Governing Board and they report the work of the Governing Board to their home state affiliate. Through the Governing Board elected representatives, members have a voice in AASA decision making. Georgia has three members on the AASA Governing Board.