15 Floyd County Schools students move forward in Governor's Honors selection process
15 Floyd County Schools students move forward in Governor's Honors selection process
Posted on 10/22/2017
This is the image for the news article titled 15 Floyd County Schools students move forward in Governor's Honors selection process

Dedicated students competed recently for the opportunity to go to school during the summer. Fifteen of Floyd County Schools’ (FCS) top students were selected to advance in the Governor's Honors Program (GHP) selection process and will interview at the state level for an opportunity to participate in the program. GHP is a four-week summer instructional program designed to provide intellectually gifted and artistically talented high school students with challenging and enriching educational opportunities not usually available during the regular school year. The 15 sophomores and juniors selected will represent FCS in the GHP state interviews to be held in January and February. 

GHP will take place on the campus of Berry College for the first time this summer. Rising juniors and seniors in Georgia public and private high schools are eligible to be nominated by their teachers to participate in the program. The program is fully funded by the Georgia General Assembly, so there is no charge for students to attend. For four weeks, students spend the morning in their major area of nomination, exploring topics not usually found in the regular high school classroom. During the afternoons, students choose one of the other areas in which to study. The curriculum in all the areas is challenging and engaging. Evenings are filled with seminars, activities, concerts, and performances. 

Each applicant must go through a very extensive selection process to be invited to participate in the program. Transcripts of grades and records, nomination forms, endorsements and other pertinent information are submitted to substantiate the nominations and the students must interview with a local screening committee. 

Congratulations to the following 15 District finalists and four alternates for GHP. They will represent FCS in the next level of competition.

Armuchee High School
Caroline Abney, sophomore, Science
Eli Brock, junior, Math
Kayla Hutcherson, junior, Music, Clarinet

Coosa High School
Lily Chesnut, junior, Visual Arts
John Googe, sophomore, Science
Olivia Parker, junior, Theatre

Model High School
Ty Brock, junior, Social Studies
Evalyn Edwards, sophomore, Communicative Arts
Kyle Henderson, sophomore, Spanish
Taylor Nelson, junior, Music, Chorus
Sarah VanVorst, sophomore, Communicative Arts
Micah Veillon, sophomore, Math

Pepperell High School
Taylor Carles, junior, Science
Dakota Davis, junior, Agriculture
Rachel Ferguson, sophomore, Agriculture

Shiloh St. Clair, sophomore, AHS, Social Studies
Dylan Diprima, sophomore, MHS, Technology
Janae Lee, junior, MHS, Science
Ember Milstead, junior, MHS, Communicative Arts

Major instructional areas are communicative arts (English), foreign languages, mathematics, science, social studies, visual art, theatre, music, dance, design, technology, and executive management. Instruction is also provided in four support areas -- computers, counseling, library/media, and physical fitness.

Students also select a minor area outside their major area of study. These include all the major instructional areas as well as additional offerings which reflect the interests and abilities of the instructional staff. All performing groups are open to the entire student body and include orchestra, band, chorus, and theatre.